July 2015 Here and There

I spent most of my time birding close to home (Jacksonville) plus a couple of trips to Orlando.  But the one new bird I saw this month was over in the Gainesville area–my first Broad-winged hawk. (CLICK ON PICTURE TO ENLARGE)

Broad-winged Hawk (Juvenile)

Broad-winged Hawk (Juvenile)

It’s one of the rarer species of hawk seen in Florida, but the bird’s range map shows it to be a summer visitor to our area.  Though I’d heard of a few previous sightings (usually flyovers) this bird had been consistently reported for some time at this location making it an easy find.

HOME – Another less common bird I saw in Jacksonville (Duval County) for the first time was a Stilt sandpiper.

Stilt Sandpiper

Stilt Sandpiper

Other local birds I don’t see that often included a rail, Killdeer, Ground-Dove, and a young Prairie warbler.

Clapper Rail

Clapper Rail

Killdeer

Killdeer

Common Ground-Dove

Common Ground-Dove

Prairie Warbler

Prairie Warbler

The other good looks I had were all yard birds–a Pileated woodpecker, gnatcatcher, thrasher and towhee.

Pileated Woodpecker

Pileated Woodpecker

Blue-gray Gnatcatcher

Blue-gray Gnatcatcher

Brown Thrasher

Brown Thrasher

Eastern Towhee

Eastern Towhee

And finally, a “flyover” Bald Eagle!

Bald Eagle

Bald Eagle

THERE – In Orlando I was once more in search of my first Fulvous Whistling-Duck.  No luck again, but I did get to see Black-bellied Whistling-Ducks, Glossy ibis, Limpkin and a Little Blue heron.

Black-bellied Whistling-Ducks

Black-bellied Whistling-Ducks

Glossy Ibis

Glossy Ibis

Limpkin

Limpkin

Little Blue Heron

Little Blue Heron

 Please submit any comments by using the “Reply” box below. If you are not “subscribed” and would like to receive future posts automatically, just “click” on the “Follow” button at the bottom right of the web page.

Thanks again,

Phil Graham–Photo Naturalist

