August 2014 New

It’s more of the same for August with a review of birds I saw for the first time this month in previous years.

August 2013–A year ago I saw Florida life bird #250, a Pectoral sandpiper, near Gainesville.

Pectoral Sandpiper

Pectoral Sandpiper

Another new bird was a Solitary sandpiper I saw in Jacksonville, and Nanday parakeets down around Tampa.

Solitary Sandpiper

Solitary Sandpiper

Nanday Parakeet

Nanday Parakeet

August 2012–New life birds this month for me were a Yellow warbler, Caspian tern and the Great Black-backed gull.

Yellow Warbler

Yellow Warbler

Yellow Warbler

Yellow Warbler

Caspian Tern

Caspian Tern

Great Black-backed Gull

Great Black-backed Gull

While I had seen my first Limpkin in June in the Orlando area, I was pleasantly surprised to see one here in Jacksonville in August.

Limpkin

Limpkin

August 2011–New life birds were the fairly common Red-shouldered hawk and Green heron, and the less common Black tern.

Red-shouldered Hawk

Red-shouldered Hawk

Green Heron

Green Heron

Black Tern (Juvenile)

Black Tern (Juvenile)

Finally, my first Florida life list bird was the Anhinga, which I saw in 2009.  The female is seen quite often.  But in August 2011 I got a good close look at the reticent male.

Anhinga (Female)

Anhinga (Female)

Anhinga (Male)

Anhinga (Male)

 Please submit any comments by using the “Reply” box below.  If you are not “subscribed” and would like to receive future posts automatically,  just “click” on the “Follow” button at the bottom right of the web page.

Thanks again,

Phil Graham–Photo Naturalist

 

Nature Laughs

I come, I come.  You need Me.  Live much out here.  My sunshine.  My glorious air, My Presence, My teaching.

Would they not make holiday anywhere for you.  Sunshine helps to make glad the heart of man.  It is the laughter of Nature.

Live much outside.  My medicines are sun and air . . . Mind, soul and body need helping.  Welcome My treatment for you.  Draw near to me.

Nature is often my nurse for tired souls and weary bodies.  Let her have her way with you.

God Calling

 

 

 

 

 

