July 2014 M.O.T.S.

JULY–still hot and not very “birdy”!  So I’m reviewing birds I saw for the first time in July in previous years, like I did in June.  Last summer we had a small group of scoters hang around and I got to see my first White-winged scoter here at Huguenot Park in Jacksonville.

White-winged Scoter

White-winged Scoter

Huguenot has also been good for two other new birds I saw there–my first Least tern and a “Great White” heron (a white color phase of the Great Blue heron).

Least Tern

Least Tern

"Great White" Heron

“Great White” Heron

And thanks to the report of a local birder, I was able to see my first Yellow-crowned Night Heron here in town.

Yellow-crowned Night-Heron

Yellow-crowned Night-Heron

The St Augustine area (south of Jacksonville) produced three more new birds–a Gray kingbird, Least sandpiper and Clapper rail.

Gray Kingbird

Gray Kingbird

Least Sandpiper

Least Sandpiper

Clapper Rail

Clapper Rail

In July 2011 while visiting Cedar Key (on the Gulf coast) I got to see my first Magnificent frigatebirds, White pelicans and American oystercatchers.

Magnificent Frigatebird

Magnificent Frigatebird

White Pelicans

White Pelicans

American Oystercatcher

American Oystercatcher

Finally, it took a trip to the Orlando area to find my first Eastern meadowlark, Black-bellied Whitstling-Duck, Barn swallow and Roseate Spoonbill.

Eastern Meadowlark

Eastern Meadowlark

Black-bellied Whistling-Ducks

Black-bellied Whistling-Ducks

Barn Swallows

Barn Swallows

Roseate Spoonbill

Roseate Spoonbill

Please submit any comments by using the “Reply” box below.  If you are not “subscribed” and would like to receive future posts automatically,  just “click” on the “Follow” button at the bottom right of the web page.

Thanks again,

Phil Graham–Photo Naturalist

 

 

 

