October 2012 Downstate

I had a another chance to visit the Orlando area to look for some new “life list” birds that had been reported recently.  No luck again, but I did get to visit a couple of new spots, plus two places I’d been to before, and saw some nice birds.  The first new location was in Winter Park at Mead Gardens , where I saw this Swainson’s Thrush.

Swainson’s Thrush

The other first time visit was to Viera Wetlands in Melbourne.  Here I saw my “first of the season” Blue-winged Teal.

Blue-winged Teal (Females)

Also, a Red-shouldered Hawk in flight and a Great Blue Heron.

Red-shouldered Hawk

Great Blue Heron

I saw this Red-winged Blackbird (juvenile) with an unusual feather pattern I hadn’t seen before.

Red-winged Blackbird (Juvenile)

Next it was back to Merritt Island National Wildlife Refuge near Titusville.  Highlights at the refuge included Yellowlegs, Egrets, Yellowthroats and a Kestrel.

Greater Yellowlegs

Reddish Egret

Common Yellowthroat

American Kestrel

My last stop was at the Orlando Wetlands, where there were still a large number of Black-bellied Whistling-Ducks.

Black-bellied Whistling-Duck

Lastly, in the same vicinity I saw an Ibis, Night-Heron and a Limpkin.

Glossy Ibis

Black-crowned Night-Heron

Limpkin

Please submit any comments by using the “Reply” box below.  If you are not “subscribed” and would like to receive future posts automatically,  just “click” on the “Follow” button on the web page.

