September 2012 Home & Away

I’ll start with” AWAY” when I visited Merritt Island National Wildlife Reserve (Titusville, Florida) in search of two new birds, a Wilson’s Phalarope and the Baird’s Sandpiper.  But it was “no luck” this time, as my visit was cut short by rain.  I took pictures of every peep I saw hoping for a Baird’s, but all I got were some Spotted (spotless), Semipalmated and Least Sandpipers, and Semipalmated Plovers.

Spotted Sandpiper (Juvenile)

Semipalmated Sandpiper

Least Sandpiper

Semipalmated Plover

I also saw a juvenile Black-necked Stilt, and an Osprey perched and moments later flying off with a large catch.

Black-necked Stilt (Juvenile)

Osprey

Osprey

My plan was to hit Black Point Wildlife Drive for the Phalarope before leaving, but the rains prevented that.  And of course when I got home that evening I saw a BRDBRAIN post online that said a Phalarope had been seen there earlier in the day!

But all was not lost.  On the way back the rains let up in time for me to pay a short visit to the Orlando Wetlands.  There I saw an Anhinga, a Moorhen (Common Gallinule), Red-shouldered Hawk, and several Black-bellied Whistling-Ducks.

Anhinga (Female)

Common Gallinule (Juvenile)

Red-shouldered Hawk

Black-bellied Whistling-Duck

Back “HOME” in Jacksonville I found my first of the season Kingfishers and Palm Warblers at Hanna Park.

Belted Kingfisher

Palm Warbler

Also, a first of the season (for me) Pied-billed Grebe, nicely framed among the reeds.

Pied-billed Grebe

There were also the usual suspects–Green, Little and Great Blue herons, and a Snowy egret.

Green Heron

Little Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Snowy Egret

And a hungry Osprey preparing to leave its perch.

Osprey

At Castaway Island I found another Kingfisher, Snowy egrets, and a well-camouflaged Great Blue Heron.

Belted Kingfisher

Snowy Egrets

Great Blue Heron

Also a Tricolored heron foraging in the marsh.

Tricolored Heron

Finally, a walk along the shore at Jacksonville Beach produced a pair of Sanderlings running from the surf, and a Willet giving me a “high four”!

Sanderlings

Willet

Please submit any comments by using the “Reply” box below.  If you are not “subscribed” and would like to receive future posts automatically,  just “click” on the “Follow” button at the bottom right corner of the web page.

Thanks again,

Phil Graham–Photo Naturalist

