March 2012 More Pairs

“Two by Two” continued with visits to several places in St Johns County.  First was a trip to Fort Matanzas, which is south of St Augustine, with Diane Reed and Terry Jennings.  I got my first look at juvenile Great Horned Owls and one of the parents at the entrance to the fort.

Great Horned Owls (Juvenile)

Great Horned Owl (Adult)

On the south side of St Augustine we toured Vaill Point Park by Moultrie Creek, along with Pat Zaborsky.  Highlights there included a Yellow-throated Warbler and a Little Blue Heron, among the other birds we saw in the park.

Yellow-Throated Warbler

Little Blue Heron

I finished off the day stopping by Comanche Cove, just north of the city, where I saw White Ibis together with Black-crowned Night-Herons in the trees.

White Ibis

Black-Crowned Night-Heron

Stan Wakefield invited me to visit his place in World Golf Village (northwest of St Augustine) where he maintains “houses” for the Purple Martins that visit each spring and summer.  I saw my first Martins and got a picture of a female, and an Eastern Bluebird that also breeds in his area.

Purple Martin (Female)

Eastern Bluebird

On another shorebird survey for Guana Reserve with Diane and Pat, I got pictures of a Herring Gull, and a pair of adult Brown Pelicans–breeding (black neck) and non-breeding.

Herring Gull

Brown Pelicans (Adults)

An added bonus was my closest look yet at an adult Northern Gannet.

Northern Gannet

Finally, on my way home I stopped by the Guana WMA (Wildlife Management Area), which is north of the Reserve in northern St Johns county.  There, near the entrance I found a pair of Towhees (male and female) flying about and singing their song.

Eastern Towhee (Male)

Eastern Towhee (Female)

Please submit any comments by using the “Reply” box below.  If you are not “subscribed” and would like to receive future posts automatically,  just “click” on the “Follow” button at the bottom right corner of the page.

Thanks again,

Phil Graham–Photo Naturalist

NEXT POST   April 2012 – New Places: Stilt, Grosbeaks, Buntings, Warblers and More!

