November 2011 Horned Grebe

Toward the latter part of November I began to observe the arrival of some winter visitors.  The highlight for me was seeing my first Horned Grebe at Guana Reserve, which is just north of St Augustine in St Johns county.

Horned Grebe

Hanna Park had some new arrivals too.  Tree Swallows were soaring and diving by the lake.  Their rapid and erratic movement makes picture-taking difficult.  Then I noticed movement in a nearby bush.  I started shooting  and later realized I had a young Tree Swallow on a branch feeding on berries–the first time I’d ever seen one perched.

Tree Swallow

Other newcomers included a Ruddy Duck, Eastern Phoebe, and a Yellow-rumped Warbler.

Ruddy Duck

Eastern Phoebe

Yellow-Rumped Warbler

Lastly, I visited a new location in Jacksonville at Beach Boulevard and San Pablo Road.  On the ponds behind the shopping center I saw my first of the season Ring-necked Ducks and a Killdeer.

Ring-Necked Ducks

Killdeer

Please submit any comments by using the “Reply” box below.  If you are not “subscribed” and would like to receive future posts automatically,  just “click” on the “Follow” button at the bottom right corner of the page.

Thanks again,

Phil Graham–Photo Naturalist

NEXT POST:   December 2011 – Vilano Beach: Purple Sandpiper, Hooded Merganser, Parakeets and more!

